Navratri: A Joyous Celebration of Divine Devotion - Seetara

Navratri: A Joyous Celebration of Divine Devotion

Navratri, the vibrant and beautiful Hindu festival that spans nine days, is a heartfelt tribute to the supreme Goddess Durga. Each of these celestial days is devoted to a unique incarnation of Maa Durga, the universal protector who shields us from harmful forces and demons. Observed five times a year in accordance with Hindu traditions, Navratri calls devotees to perform Durga puja, seeking blessings for a life adorned with compassion, wisdom, and prosperity. In this blog, we embark on a journey to explore the nine divine incarnations of Maa Durga and the profound significance of this auspicious festival.

Navratri resonates with the worship of Maa Durga in her nine divine forms, each carrying its own unique significance.


  1. Maa Shailputri: The daughter of the King of the Mountains, symbolizing purity and steadfastness.
  2. Maa Brahmacharini: The unmarried form of the goddess, representing penance and meditation.
  3. Maa Chandraghata: The goddess who bestows peace and tranquility upon her devotees.
  4. Maa Kushmanda: The creator of the universe, radiating energy and vitality.
  5. Maa Skand Mata: The mother of Lord Kartikeya, signifying motherly love and protection.
  6. Maa Katyayani: The fierce warrior goddess, embodying courage and strength.
  7. Maa Kaalratri: The destroyer of evil forces, symbolizing empowerment and liberation.
  8. Maa Mahagauri: The compassionate and nurturing form of the goddess.
  9. Maa Siddhidatri: The bestower of supernatural powers and spiritual enlightenment.


While Navratri is celebrated with grandeur during the Sharad Navratri, the other four Navratris hold regional significance. Chaitra Navratri, which follows Sharad Navratri, is celebrated fervently in certain areas. Chaitra Navratri often involves social gatherings and fairs near Shakti Peethas and sacred sites.

The remaining three Navratri, collectively known as Gupt Navratri, consist of Magh Gupt Navratri, Ashadha Gupt Navratri, and Paush Gupt Navratri. These are observed by a smaller number of people and are associated with various occult practices, with Paush Navaratri being one of the lesser-known ones.


Navratri, derived from "Nav" (meaning nine) and "Ratri" (meaning nights), spans nine sacred nights of devotion and celebration. This festival is widely cherished in India, especially in Gujarat, West Bengal, and Delhi. Devotees express their gratitude to Maa Durga through Durga puja, seeking blessings for health, life, and wisdom. The tenth day, celebrated as Dussehra or Vijayadashmi, symbolizes the victory of Lord Ram over the demon King Ravana.

Navratri holds immense significance in Hinduism, signifying the eternal victory of virtue over malevolence. These nine days are considered sacred, and the consumption of alcohol, meat, onions, and garlic is strictly prohibited. People refrain from unlawful activities, engaging instead in ceremonies, rituals, and yagnas.

A Festival Of Devotion

Navratri is soaked in mythology, with two prominent narratives:


  1. The Tale of Mahishasura- Mahishasura, a demon, received a boon from Lord Shiva, rendering him invulnerable to harm from any man or god. This newfound power fueled his arrogance and cruelty, causing havoc on Earth and even threatening the heavens. In response, the gods created Maa Durga, who ultimately vanquished Mahishasura, symbolizing the victory of good over evil.
  2. Lord Rama's Devotion- Lord Rama fervently worshipped Devi Bhagwati, the ultimate divine force, for nine days to seek her blessings for victory against Ravana. On the ninth day, Devi Bhagwati granted her blessings, and on the tenth day, Lord Rama defeated Ravana. Since then, people have worshipped various forms of Devi Bhagwati for nine days, concluding with Vijaya Dashami.


Navaratri Celebrations Across India


  1. West Bengal and Eastern India- In West Bengal, pandals (temporary decorative structures) are made, and streets are covered with colorful decorations. Different forms of Goddess Durga are installed in pandals and worshipped by devotees. The tenth day witnesses grand processions and the immersion of the goddess's statue. Sindoor Khela, a ritual where married women apply vermilion to the feet and foreheads of the goddess and each other, is a beloved tradition during Durga puja.
  2. Gujarat- In Gujarat, devotees fast for nine days, perform Garba (a traditional dance), and worship different incarnations of Goddess Durga. Garba involves rhythmic dancing with sticks, and both men and women in vibrant, colorful attire.
  3. Delhi and Uttar Pradesh- Navratri commences with Ramlila in Delhi, where large stages depict the epic Ramayana. The festival starts with the burning of effigies of Ravana on the tenth day, known as Dashami.
  4. Bihar- Temples in Bihar conduct special pujas, and a local fair in Sitamarhi showcases pottery, handicrafts, and more.


Navratri Puja Vidhi

The puja ritual involves the following steps:

1. Morning Preparations: Wake up early, take a bath, and wear clean clothes.

2. Gather Puja Items: Collect all the required items.

3. Thali Arrangement: Set up a puja thali with all the ingredients.

4. Idol Placement: Place the idol or picture of Goddess Durga on a red cloth.

5. Ghatasthapana: Install the urn with Gangajal, mango leaves, red thread, and coconut. Place it near or on the clay pot.

6. Panchopchar Puja: Worship the deities with flowers, camphor, incense sticks, scent, and cooked dishes.

7. Mantras and Invocations: Chant Maa Durga mantras, inviting her blessings into your home.

8. Inviting Nine Girls: On the eighth and ninth days, invite nine girls representing the nine forms of Goddess Durga. Worship them, apply tilak, and offer delicious food.

9. Ghat Visarjan: On the final day, perform Ghat Visarjan, offering prayers, flowers, and rice to the deities before removing the urn from the altar.


Navratri, a festival of profound devotion, radiates with the divine presence of Maa Durga. These nine nights signify the triumph of good over evil, celebrated with fervor across India. Devotees take part in rituals, dances, and pujas, seeking blessings for a life filled with health, prosperity, and spiritual well-being. As we immerse ourselves in the splendor of Navratri, let us embrace its radiant spirit and the enduring victory of light over darkness.

Back to blog